Do now: how to learn what you don’t know.

Della Rucker
2 min readFeb 7, 2022

--

This is a selection from Future Here Now, a newsletter produced by the Wise Economy Workshop/ Wise Fool Press. Every Future Here Now has three sections:

  • Coming Soon, on emerging ideas and technologies that will impact you sooner than you think,
  • Local Learnings, on issues other communities are facing and how they are addressing them in a future-ready manner,
  • Do Now, on practical ideas for helping your community and your work become more future-ready right now.

For a weekly supply of information that helps you prepare for the Fusion Economy in the place you care about, plus other benefits, subscribe to Future Here Now. You’ll be glad you did.

I had another article lined up for this slot, but when I found this one this morning, I knew I had to change my plans.

So often, especially as professionals working on improving our communities, we think that we have the answers, or at least most of them. We trust in our own rightness, and we’re confident, so confident, in our ability to figure it out based on what we already know. But our world views are limited and our educations left a lot out. Too often, we have no idea what we don’t know.

You should read this brief article, because the story is brilliantly told and it’s one that I couldn’t tell at this point in my life. But the magic words are embedded at the end:

Tell me more.

It’s very easy for a smartie like me to tell you that you misunderstood, that your facts are wrong, that you’re wrong. But my confidence in my rightness is based on very limited information — even if my knowledge looks enormous to me.

If I ask you to tell me more, chances are I will learn Something. About the world that I don’t see, about you, about me. About a different way of seeing and interpreting that might open up whole new possibilities. About something that I didn’t know.

And that something I didn’t know might be the key to solving a challenge I haven’t been able to solve using just the stuff that’s already in my head.

Thank God that I can ask you to tell me more.

--

--

Della Rucker

Co Founder, Econogy / Principal, Wise Economy Workshop. Author, Local Economy Revolution. Economic revitalization & public engagement. Mom. Cincinnati Ohio,